Chicken It Is!

I was already leaning toward making the roasted chicken with lemon and thyme for my family for dinner last night, and when your enthusiasm seemed to gravitate toward that dinner choice as well, my decision was solidified! Thanks for the input. 😀

My sister Leslie was excited to help me and we decided to make two roasted chickens.

Roasted Chicken with Lemon and Thyme

This was Leslie’s first attempt at making a whole chicken and she was shocked at the amount of fat we cut off before even beginning to prep the birds. Naaaasty!

Though it took around and hour and 20 minutes to actually roast, the recipe itself was a breeze and eventually we had moist, delicious chicken without too much effort (we didn’t make the gravy detailed in the recipe below).

Chiiiiicken

We transferred the chickens onto a prettier platter and served them with sweet potato casserole made with brown sugar, pecans, cinnamon and butter and my homemade microwavable cranberry sauce.

Sweet Potato Casserole

Yum

The dinner got rave reviews and Leslie’s first attempt at cooking a whole chicken was a success!

Before dinner, we picked up our family Christmas tree! I can’t wait to decorate it today. It smells wonderful and looks very festive.Yay for the holidays!

Today

Today Ryna my family and I will be meeting with a potential florist and wedding photographer. At 11:30 a.m. my mom, Leslie and I are off to a boutique to try on wedding dresses. I’m so excited!!!

If you are married, how many places did you visit to try on dresses?

This is my second attempt at finding the dress, but we’re going back to the same place since we didn’t get a chance to look at everything the first time.

Roasted Chicken with Lemon and Thyme

Ingredients:

  • 1  (6-pound) roasting chicken
  • 2  teaspoons  Hungarian paprika
  • 2  tablespoons  chopped fresh thyme, divided
  • 1  teaspoon  salt, divided
  • 1  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper, divided
  • 2  lemons, divided
  • Cooking spray
  • 1  teaspoon  olive oil
  • 2  tablespoons  all-purpose flour
  • 1/2  cup  dry white wine (such as sauvignon blanc)
  • 1  cup  fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
  • 1  tablespoon  fresh lemon juice
  • 2  teaspoons  sugar
  • Lemon slices (optional)
  • Thyme sprigs (optional)
  • Directions:

    Preheat oven to 425°.

    Remove and discard giblets and neck from chicken. Trim excess fat. Starting at neck cavity, loosen skin from breast and drumsticks by inserting fingers, gently pushing between skin and meat. Combine the paprika, 1 tablespoon thyme, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper; rub under loosened skin. Thinly slice 1 lemon; arrange slices under loosened skin. Cut remaining lemon into quarters. Place lemon quarters inside chicken cavity. Add the remaining 1 tablespoon thyme to chicken cavity.

    Place chicken on the rack of a broiler pan or roasting pan coated with cooking spray. Brush oil over skin. Cover chicken with aluminum foil. Bake at 425° for 30 minutes. Uncover and bake 50 minutes or until an instant-read thermometer inserted into thigh registers 165°. Transfer chicken to a cutting board; cover with foil, and let stand 15 minutes before carving.

    Place a zip-top plastic bag in a 2-cup glass measure. Pour drippings into bag; let stand 10 minutes (fat will rise to the top). Seal bag; carefully snip off 1 bottom corner of bag. Drain drippings into measuring cup, stopping before fat layer reaches opening; discard fat. Place pan on stove top over medium heat. Sprinkle flour into pan. Add wine; bring to a boil, stirring constantly with a whisk. Add drippings, broth, juice, sugar, remaining 3/4 teaspoon pepper, and remaining 1/2 teaspoon salt to pan, stirring constantly with a whisk until slightly thickened. Remove from heat.

    Remove skin and lemon slices from chicken, and remove lemon wedges from cavity; discard. Carve chicken, and arrange on a serving platter. Serve with gravy. Garnish with additional lemon slices and thyme sprigs, if desired.

    You may also view this Cooking Light recipe here.

    Nutritional Facts:

    (Serving size 3 oz. chicken, 3 tbsp. gravy)

    Calories: 174 (35% from fat)
    Fat: 6.7g (sat 1.8g,mono 2.7g,poly 1.5g)
    Protein: 23.5g
    Carbohydrate: 3.2g
    Fiber: 0.1g
    Cholesterol: 69mg
    Iron: 1.3mg
    Sodium: 417mg
    Calcium: 21mg

    7 Responses

    1. Glad you ended up making it!! Love the sweet potato accompaniment too 🙂

    2. The chicken looks great!

      I think I visited probably 6-7 stores, and went to the same ones multiple times. It wasn’t because I couldn’t find a dress – it was because I wanted EVERY dress!!!

    3. i love roasted chicken 🙂 & sweet potato..yum

      xoxo
      shelley
      http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    4. I went 4 stores. I tried to go to couple more but some stores were snobby when I tried to make an appointment. I went try as many dresses as you can even if you think you found the dress. I was a 2 dress bride cause I bought the dress I thought I wanted and then found the one I really wanted. Brides with 2 or 3 dresses are not uncommon.

    5. that looks like a whole lot of work…with some yummy results!

    6. Dress shopping and everything wedding related is so much fun! I actually only tried on ONE dress, believe it or not! I had seen a Melissa Sweet dress in an ad in InStyle and my sister marked off the SAME dress….I thought it would look horrible on and I’d get over it and move on…..but it must have been a sign because I fell in LOVE with it when I put it on and it was 10% off for that weekend only…..fate:) I never thought I’d only try on one….I thought I’d have to go through thousands since I’m usually so picky! Hope you find one you’re absolutely in love with! Good luck:)

    7. I went to one place. The first dress I saw was one on one of the mannequins at the entrance and I loved it. I tried on about 10 dresses and didn’t care for any of them. I didn’t try on the mannequin one bec I assumed it would be too much. Well, I asked out of curiosity and it was HALF the price of the others so I tried it on and LOVED it. I learned to go with my gut. LOL It of course ended up being my dress 🙂

    Leave a comment