Runner’s Fuel: Homemade Granola

Before (and after) setting out on a morning five mile run with Sadie, I fueled up on homemade nutty apricot granola.

My Runnin' Buddy

My Runnin' Buddy

I actually made the granola with the intention of using it as a topping on yogurt or oatmeal throughout the week, but considering the amount I already ate this morning and how delicious it is, I don’t know if it’ll make it to Monday.

I began by chopping dried apricots  until I had a full quarter cup of the fruit.

Sliced Apricot

Sliced Apricot

Overflowing 1/4 c. Apricot

Overflowing 1/4 c. Apricot

You can easily use a combination of any type of dried fruits: raisins, cherries, cranberries, blueberries, pineapple…

I love all kinds of nutsand conveniently had slivered almonds and walnuts onhand so I added a quarter cup of each to the bowl with the apricots.

Slivered Almonds

Slivered Almonds

Chopped Walnuts

Chopped Walnuts

Fruit and Nuts

Fruit and Nuts

I poured one and one third cups of overflowing old fashioned oats (not the quick-cooking kind) in with the dried fruit and nuts.

Oats, Apricots, Nuts

Oats, Apricots, Nuts

To moisten the oat mixture and add sweetness, I combined a quarter cup of honey with three tablespoons of melted butter and drizzled the liquid over the oats, tossing to coat the mixture.

The Sweetness of Honey

The Sweetness of Honey

Honey Butter

Honey Butter

Coated Oat Mixture

Coated Oat Mixture

After tasting the granola, I decided it needed a little extra oomph and added a liberal amount of cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice to the mix.

I spread the granola on a cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray and baked it at 350 for 12 minutes. I then stirred the mixture and baked it for an additional eight minutes (or until lightly browned).

Nutty Apricot Granola

Nutty Apricot Granola

Cinnamon and Spice and Everything Nice

Cinnamon and Spice and Everything Nice

When I took the granola out of the oven it didn’t have the crunchy consistency  that I associate with granola, so I put it in some Tupperware and stuck it in the fridge to harden. Perfect!
 
The spices and nuts really took the granola to the next level. I think I’ll go have some more… Yeah, it’s definitely not going to make it to Monday!

4 Responses

  1. Wow that looks really good! It is always nice to have something hearty and filling before a long run.

  2. […] with That Granola? Posted on October 8, 2009 by peanutbutterfingers After polishing off my homemade granola in one weekend, I snagged a bag of Udi’s natural granola to munch on throughout the week. […]

  3. […] picture was taken the morning of our engagement… I was still completely in the dark at this […]

  4. […] you’re looking for another good homemade granola recipe, check out this one for nutty apricot […]

Leave a comment